My thoughts on Mayim’s article about Sleep Training

Recently a friend of mine posted an article on baby sleep patterns that I thought was really interesting. It talked about the pressures we have in modern society to force our babies to be on a schedule for sleeping from a young age (younger than 6 months).

I will have to caveat this post the same way the article did! I don’t want to start any mama drama. I just want to give an example of what sleep and attachment parenting has looked like for us! I know that everyone is different. That being said, here are a few thoughts.

The article talks about attachment parenting which I originally read about in Dr. Sears’ book The Baby Book, as well as other places. Attachment parenting often supports breast feeding, co-sleeping, bed-sharing, and baby wearing just to name a few. We practiced co-sleeping his first month or two, and I try to wear him as much as possible!

I love that this article says it is completely NORMAL for your newborn to wake up every couple of hours during the night. Sky woke up every 3-4 hours during the night until after 2 months! Then he continued to wake up at least once a night until about 5 months old. He’s just finally starting to almost sleep through the night if you like to wake up at 530 haha. It works for me though as a working mom since I have to get up for work at 530 anyway! Jokes on you, Sky!

Another point I loved about the article was the advice to “Stop looking at the clock.” That is such good advice but also so hard to follow! I am definitely a planner. I like to know exactly when Sky eats at day care, how many ounces, and how many/how long his naps were. When we first started breastfeeding, I would watch the clock to make sure he ate for 10 minutes on each side even if it took an hour of him snacking! I am definitely a clock watcher. But what I love about the article is that it recommends to turn the clock off! Trust your motherly instincts and the signs your baby gives you. It takes the pressure off so much!

This kinda leads to my next topic. Babies are given this awesome signal to notify you that they need something – it’s called crying! I love that right now, if Sky is crying there is probably a reason that I can help with. This goes the same for the middle of the night. If he wakes up in the middle there is probably something he needs, even if it is just soothing from his pacifer.

Big Sky turns 6 months on Sunday, so as we enter into a new stage of infant-hood I look forward to expecting new patterns of sleep from him and new wants. As well as new ways to cope with his new needs. But I completely agree with the article that I think it is natural for the baby to wake up before 6 months and that you should respond to his crying if he cries at night! I just can’t bear to let him cry it out just yet 😦

Anyway, I think that’s all for now! Enjoy this cute pic of Sky in his Jammie’s!

To see the full article, go here!

20131212-212712.jpg

Leave a Reply

