Being a Mom and Making Time For Fitness

Some days or even weeks go by with little self-motivation to workout.  With all the diaper changing, baby feeding, laundry, work, school, wife type things to complete, making time for fitness can be difficult to say the least! A lot of times, I need OUTSIDE motivation rather than self-motivation to workout.  I have found that if I don’t make time for at least a short workout a couple of times a week, I don’t feel my best. When I go for a run I clear my head as I just enjoy the cool air and rhythm of my steps.  Recently, I have found that an easy ride on the bike is quite soothing and exhilirating at the same time.  Each time I get back out there, I think to myself, “Why have I been putting this off for so long???”

On days when I am especially unmotivated, I think of the example I will be setting for Sky when he is older, by staying in shape and taking care of myself.  I think about the satisfaction of knowing I was intentional with my time. And when I’m really feeling in a rut, I remember my goals and continue to work towards them. Having goals and accountability are absolutely key with a steady workout routine.  What are your goals? Who holds you accountable?

This past weekend the weather was beautiful. For winter in Colorado, that means crisp, sunny days and 55 degrees outside. THIS was my motivation to get out this weekend!

I took advantage of my husband being home with Sky and I as well as the beautiful day to go out on a 9 mile bike ride around 3:30 on Saturday afternoon. I decided to change my route and to ride by Longs Pond, which my husband nicknamed “Sunrise Pond” because of the beautiful sunrises in the morning. When I rode by Saturday I had to stop to take a picture of the half-frozen pond because I thought it was great I was wearing a short-sleeve jersey while there was ice on the water!

20140120-164232.jpg

Here are some pictures of the same pond my husband snapped two different morning on his way to work! Told you it was beautiful!

20130608_061403

20130806_061842

Sunday I was feeling a little sore and my husband was taking a nap, so I decided to put Sky in the BOB and go for a quick jog around the block in my Vivo Barefoot minimalist shoes. They are great for strengthening my feet muscles and making me concentrate on my form.  The thermometer told me it was 43 out, but I felt great in a light long sleeve shirt and running shorts! Sky stayed nice and warm all bundled up in a blanket for the 20 minute run. The abundance of kids running through the streets and people playing fetch with their dogs was indicative of the nice weather! I could also smell some delicious BBQ wafting through the air in my neighborhood! My only regret running with the BOB is I tend to take 175 steps per minute instead of my average 188-190. (I know this from my Garmin Footpod, see post here.)  I took a few pictures on my run because it was such a gorgeous day! I also took some pictures to show you that other people were out playing in the 43 degree weather with snow on the ground besides myself!

IMG_8761

IMG_8826

IMG_4097

It is possible to make time for fitness as a mom.  Some days are easier than others, but I have found that any one day I go out, is better than nothing, and I truly feel much more energized when I do carve out the time to bike or run or even walk around the park.

Leave a Reply

