Getting Rid of Stuff: Part 1

Do you ever feel cluttered in your home? Do you have magazines you never read? Are you always trying to find a place for this item or that item but they just end up on your kitchen table?

Well, if you answered yes to any of the questions above, you are in good company. We say yes to “All of the Above” and more! I have been asking myself, “How do we clean and organize our house and get rid of the clutter?” for years…

In my New Years’ resolution 2014 post, I mentioned we would work towards minimialization, decluttering, and organizing our house a little better this year. I was feeling overwhelmed by thought thought so I enlisted my husband for support! He suggested we start with the basement. We are going with the mentality, one floor at a time.

So, one weekend morning, we drug ourselves downstairs to tackle the deep, dark basement. I immediately felt overwhelmed by all of the boxes stacked around our unfinished basement floor. Upon further review though I realized most of the boxes were empty! Hooray! We like to save boxes for specific electronic products or fragile stuff like lamps and kitchen appliances. These boxes we definitely wanted to keep, especially since we move pretty often in the military.

DSC_5521

My husband cleared a spot for me on the sectional couch we have in the basement (yes, I told you we have a lot of stuff!), and I sat down with Sky in the Moby in front of me. This allowed me to have my hands free to look through the boxes and Sky just chewed on a toy for about 40 minutes. Well, he tried pretty hard to help me clean out the boxes but got in the way more than anything ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s a picture after I took him out of the Moby because he was starting to get fussy…

DSC_5520

My husband then selected a box from the pile, and I started going through the “stuff”.

It’s so much fun going through old boxes sometimes! So many great memories! This, of course, is why I dreaded the thought of going into the basement. I knew there would be a lot of nostalgic stuff I didn’t want to let go of, and that it was going to take awhile. Memories are one of the biggest reasons we hold on to things for a long time. I also hold onto stuff for the “just-in-case” time when I might need that item again. ย During this process, we are trying so hard to let go of stuff that we have not used in over or a year or that do not truly represent the memories that we want to lug around with us over the next few years! It is a little overwhelming…

But this is where the whole “one at a time” mentality really helps out!

I focused on the box in front of me. Then I focused on each item in that box individually and put it into 1 of 3 categories:

1. Keep
2. Trash
3. Recycle

That’s it. That’s all that I focused on when going through the boxes. One item at a time.

Here’s a few of the items we found down there that I thought I would share with you guys ๐Ÿ™‚

1. Old high school paraphernalia from the lacrosse and tennis team. I will probably keep this maybe in the off chance that we will be able to hang some of these plaques on the wall or in the trophy case at a later date.

DSC_5531

2. My sweet SWAP hat from Girl Scouts. I do not have any extra SWAPs sitting around, it is just this one hat, so I think I’m going to keep it for memory’s sake.

DSC_5533

3. My collection of McDonald’s kids meal toys. Ohhh yeah. Probably going to get rid of these… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Bye barbies.

DSC_5535

4. A Bunch of childhood books that I will DEFINITELY be keeping.

DSC_5538

5. Some sweet Disney movies on TAPE. Still trying to see if any of these are worth anything. Anyone know?

DSC_5541

While I was going through the boxes Tom was fixing up an old desk that we had in the basement. Here he is hanging with Sky in the Ergo after Sky got tired of sitting with mommy ๐Ÿ™‚ Stay tuned for the next installment of Getting Rid of Stuff.

DSC_5522

DSC_5525

DSC_5527

2 thoughts on “Getting Rid of Stuff: Part 1

  1. Your posts never cease to amaze me !!! Not only are our sons very close in age, but it seems so much of our lives mirror each other ๐Ÿ™‚ I have been slowly decluttering our home too. We are fortunate to have a fairly large home (probably biggest we will ever have during our time in the military) and we just have too much stuff! In the last few months I have donated over 8 bags of my clothes (as in large shopping bags that you get from department stores) and my closet is still full. We also did the ‘paleo challenge’ in January and loved it, this I cleaned out our dry goods pantry this week. We still have a long way to go (read: three car garage and third floor that have become dumping grounds) but we will get there! ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for sharing!

    • Thank YOU for sharing! Tom and I were wondering if you were doing the Paleo challenge… we kept seeing all your food posts ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that we have so much in common too! It is really crazy ๐Ÿ™‚ Crazy but awesome!

Leave a Reply

