What do the books you read say about you?

Today as I was driving to work, I listened to a lecture for one of my Information Technology and Business classes I am taking this semester. The lecture was about making the most of your MBA. The speaker, Wendy Calvin, brought up an interesting point that I thought I would share with you all.

She said books and magazines you read reflect your interests and passions, and those interests should influence your career decisions. The books say a lot about who you are as a person and who you want to be.

So basically she's saying…

The books you read show you who you want to be and what you want to do “when you grow up.”

Specifically in the realm of business, Ms. Calvin believes what books you read should influence career decisions because only what you spend the most time doing and thinking about will truly motivate you into being “great” at what you do. If you've ever read Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell you know what I'm talking about…10,000 hours are needed to become an expert at something so you probably want to have a passion for it.

You may be good with math and have a degree in engineering but perhaps you love reading entrepreneurship and management books, so maybe you should run your own company instead of being an engineer? Maybe you have a MBA but you always read about outdoor activities and hiking, so you will use that MBA to be involved with or run a high adventure program? If you receive both The Economist and Business weekly, what do you spend more time reading?

Based on her comment, I thought I would list what books I have been reading recently. What do you think these books say about me and my passions? Is her opinion correct?

In this case, I think my books truly represent my stage in life: motherhood. They reflect my yearning to be a Godly mother and wife. I think both marriage and motherhood are amazing callings that you can take a whole life improving upon and learning new things, and still have more to learn. I think both callings will truly make more of an impact than any “job” I will ever have, which is why I take time out of my busy schedule to prioritize and read these types of books! I think these books are pretty representative of my interests and passions, especially Hunger Games!!!

Tell me the past 5 books you've read. Do the books/magazines you read reflect your passions? Should these passions be the career you pursue? Looking forward to your thoughts and feedback!

Books in progress on Kindle:

(And I just took a screen shot of the covers…I really am at least half way through most of these books)

1. Raising Godly Tomatoes: Not actually about tomatoes.

20140226-083911.jpg

2. Sacred Marriage: What if God designed marriages to make us holy more than to make us happy?

20140226-083930.jpg3. Growing Your Blog While Managing Your Home: Always need some good advice!

20140226-083947.jpg

4. Your Grocery Budget Toolbox: My inspiration and motivation for my grocery budget assessments,

20140226-083956.jpg

5. Hunger Games Trilogy: Just for fun and because I had to know what happened in the 3rd book after the movies came out.20140226-084004.jpg

And as an added bonus. My favorite book from 2013.

Desperate: Hope for the Mom Who Needs to Breathe

Comforting. Life changing. Life-giving!

20140226-084013.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “What do the books you read say about you?

  1. I agree 100%. But I wonder if that applies to the fiction books one has on the bookshelf. If a woman has 100 romance novels does it indicate she is full of romance, in need of more romance or is it just the genre she prefers. My bookshelf is mostly investing, finance, fiction and basically a shrine to Warren Buffett and I think it is a good representation of who I am.

    • I know. I contemplated what I should say if anything about fictional books. Although fictional books may not reflect what you “do” I think they still tell something about the person. The only perspective I can speak on is my own. For example, I love reading “fantasy” fictional books as well. I love them because the characters come alive and have traits and situations that I can empathize with and perhaps even learn from. I also love the details and character development the author puts into the story. It makes me appreciate more the world around me. Fictional books don’t have quite as much impact but I still think they play a part in who you are.

Leave a Reply

