9-Month Olds And Sleep Regression

Wow, so it has been BUSY. I think the “busy” I could traditionally handle “on my own” because I could control my own schedule before Life With Sky. I didn’t have to worry about a little one waking up in the middle of the night or how long it would take him to fall asleep! I didn’t have to worry about feeding anyone other than myself and hubby (who more often than not feeds me).

Lately it’s seemed like one thing after another for Sky. First, he was getting 3-teeth at one time. Then he got a bad sinus cold and a cold “in his eyes” as my mom would say. When we took him to the pediatrician to make sure it wasn’t pink eye, he actually had an ear infection! We gave him the medicine prescribed and then he developed a rash (not hives) all over his body. We took him in for the rash and then his ear infection was worse. Say what??? So the doctor prescribed stronger medication, and we had to worry about the rash potentially getting worse, as well as potential diarrhea from the medicine. Gross! Thankfully the rash went away, and I guess we’ll have to figure out what caused it later. For the diarrhea the pediatrician recommended yogurt or baby probiotics. This actually worked really well, and we didn’t have many issues!

20140404-185447.jpg

Anyway, with all of that he abruptly stopped going to bed at 7 out of nowhere, and he cried and fought naps like it was the worst thing in the world that we would think about asking him to sleep. He also refused to take a bottle from anyone including Tom and only wanted to nurse! For those of you that don’t realize the impact of this, I work full time and he’s at day care most of the day. I became legitimately worried the day he stayed home with his daddy and only nursed at 6am, had one baby yogurt, and then refused to eat until I got home that afternoon around 5pm! I know everyone says he will eat if he’s hungry, but it didn’t stop me from worrying at least a little bit!!! Okay, quite a bit 🙂

That being said, we assumed the sleep and nursing issues were because of the ear infection, and he would just get over them once he was better. So we waited.

A couple of days passed, the rash went away and he started taking bottles again (thank goodness!). It didn’t appear his ears were still bothering him, and we were almost done with the medication. So why wasn’t he sleeping well yet???

What did we do wrong?? Did we cuddle too much during the ear infection? Is he still in pain somewhere else?

Well, whenever I wonder if it is something else altogether I go to The Google and type his age and the symptoms. Yup, this is Mom 101 medical research… The Google.

And, as usual Mom 101 Research found the Baby Sleep Site with an article on 8, 9, 10 Month Old Sleep Regression Explained!

20140404-070948.jpg

I knew it! I knew we couldn’t be the only ones. Sometimes it’s just so comforting knowing there’s likely nothing you can do to help your baby except continue your routines, love him, and remember that “this too shall pass!”

I loved the above article because it totally makes sense! It basically says babies at this point reach a lot of developmental milestones and have “too much on their minds” to sleep. They just want to practice their new skills like standing and cruising and talking, which by the way it seems Sky has started demonstrating all at the same time! He is currently 9.5 months old, so he is right in the middle of this “sleep regression.” According to the article, this sleep regression might last 3-6 weeks.

To combat the sleep regression and prevent negative long term sleep habits from forming as much as possible we have been very intentional about our routines. We have been giving a few extra cuddles, and making sure he was nice and calm before he went in the crib. We had one bad night of letting him cry it out for 40-minutes but the next night he was asleep in 4 minutes flat!

For a couple of nights, when Sky woke up in the middle of the night we would have to bring him to bed to get him back to sleep. But after reading this article, I decided to try nursing him and then putting him right back to bed since we don’t really want a family bed, and I think it actually worked!

Well, this turned into a pretty lengthy article since it’s been a while 🙂 I’ll leave you with this adorable picture of Sky!

If you have stories about sleep. regression, I’d love to hear them!

20140404-180951.jpg

Leave a Reply

