Why I love my growing 10-month old!

DSC_6113Have you ever found yourself so in love that your every waking thought and action revolves around one person (or perhaps several little people)? Well, if you are a mom or a dad then I’m SURE you know this feeling.  But do you every wonder why you love such a little thing (besides the obvious reason that babies are so cute)? I mean, come on, your sleep is scheduled around the little ones (or lack there of). Your eating is scheduled around the little ones (leftover mashed banana anyone).  Your movie watching, “relaxing”, and even bathroom going are scheduled around the little ones. Yet, it is ALL worth it.

Sky turned 10 months on the 15th… one week ago. I can’t BELIEVE how fast he is growing and learning.  I love seeing the world through his eyes.  Every corner of the room is interesting.  Every dust mite underneath the bookshelf. Every crumb on the counter. Even though he challenges me to be more patient, more loving, less frustrated, a better house keeper, better at time management, better at giving of myself, better at loving my husband, better at appreciating my alone time with the Lord – my heart is still filled with immense love and heart filled joy at the thought that God chose me to be his mommy. The challenge of each and every day of the diaper laundry and clothes folding and bottle rinsing and constant breastmilk pumping…all of it is to love my baby boy, and it is ALL so worth it.

Around 9 months he really started getting around.  No more pulling himself along the ground for Sky. He has been crawling everywhere and pulling himself up on everything.  Cruising along the couches and trying to stand by himself.  He pulls himself up on my legs and laughs hysterically when I pick him up in my arms.  He thinks it’s funny when I say the word “boo,” and the most interesting toy can be as simple as little bowls.  He loves to cuddle with mommy and his smile lights up my heart even on those days that are trying. Whenever music plays his bounces on his little cloth diapered butt and claps his hands in his own little rhythm.  He loves throwing the ball with his daddy or anything that he can reasonably hold in his hand.  Recently he tries to stand in the tub and has figured out how to splash the surface of the water so mommy almost gets wet too.  He swims around the tub like it is his own personal pool in the backyard.

To him, life is so simple. Eat, play, sleep. Eat, play, sleep. Love mommy. Love daddy. Sleep some more. And through all that he learns and observes and truly sees God’s beautiful creations.

I love my growing 10-month old because he encourages me to open my eyes to the wonders around us and to better appreciate the blessings in our every day lives.  He encourages me to be INTENTIONAL with my time and my thoughts and my actions.  It is the little moments that matter and the little moments that make a difference. I appreciate that he shows me these each and every day, and this is one of the many reasons why I love him.

(Again, besides the obvious that he is just so cute.)

One thought on “Why I love my growing 10-month old!

  1. This brought a tear to my eye and a smile to my heart. Everything you said I completely feel the same way and feel as though I am obsessed with my precious little boy. The feelings only get stronger and deeper……being a mom is truly the hardest, most exciting, but best feeling in the world. I love reading about you bonding and loving Sky so deeply, it takes me back not that long ago (18 months ago) it goes by too fast.

Leave a Reply

